“A is for Arab” Exhibit

Photo credit CC by Tribes of the World, via flickr

A is for Arab: Archiving Stereotypes in U.S. Popular Culture features photographs of objects and materials from the Jack G. Shaheen Archive at Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, and documents U.S. popular culture representations of Arabs and Muslims. Powerful, accessible and compelling, the A is for Arab traveling exhibition reveals and critiques the stereotypical portrayals of Arabs and Muslims from the early-20th century to the present.

The exhibit provides historical context about these images, which range from film stills to comic books to editorial cartoons. Check this link to view portions of the exhibit: http://neareaststudies.as.nyu.edu/object/kc.media.jackshaheen.aisforarab

Exhibit Dates and Location: Opening October 6, 2014, Closing October 31, 2014 in the SUB Transit Center.

Documentary Showing: Reel Bad Arabs: 50 minute documentary on how Hollywood vilifies the Arab race will be shown in the library, room 201C, on Tuesday, October 14th from noon-1pm.

Additional Resources for this event include:

1. Reel Bad Arabs: How Hollywood Vilifies a People (book by Dr. Jack Shaheen) on display at the library
2. Guilty: Hollywood’s Verdict on Arabs After 9/11 (book by Dr. Jack Shaheen) on display at the library
3. The Nation magazine, “Islamophobia: An Anatomy of An American Panic” July 2-9, 2012, available electronically through the library http://goo.gl/lYKvnP [my.BoiseState login may be required]
4. Dr. Jack Shaheen interview clips (available on loan from NYU)

Elizabeth Ramsey,
Reference Librarian

Dance Appreciation Month

From Albertsons Library's Historic Boise State Collection

July is dance appreciation month and the last Saturday of the month is National Dance Day! As you might expect, Albertsons Library has resources to help you find your bop, boogie, or pirouette!

Let’s start with the books. If you type dance history into the search box on the front page of the library website, you’ll retrieve over 25,000 books and eBooks. To be clear, not every one of these titles is sitting in the library, but about 2200 of them are, with another 600+ online titles that Boise State University students, faculty, and staff can access immediately. Most of the other 22,000 titles can be acquired via the library’s Interlibrary Loan service - free! Below are just a few examples. Click the title to view details.

Though these books look really interesting, dance lends itself to the moving image, and the library can help with that too! There are a number of DVDs in our collection, but we also subscribe to a streaming video database entirely devoted to the art of dance.

Dance in Video is a library of over five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries from the 20th Century. Content covers a variety of genres, including ballet, jazz, tap, improvisational, and concert dance.

Search or browse for videos in a variety of ways, including genre, title or choreographer. Each video is accompanied by a complete transcript and is divided into tracks. Those who create a free account can save playlists and/or video clips. In addition, tools are provided for citing and sharing videos with others in the Boise State University community.

You can get to Dance in Video from the Albertsons Library website under the “Videos & Music” tab.

Of course, there are a plethora of great dance resources on the Web. The New York Public Library has put together a guide to the best of the web for dance so that you don’t have to dig through all those Google search results.

As always, the librarians at Albertsons Library are happy to help if you have questions. Until then - let’s dance! 

Ellie Dworak

ProQuest Statistical Insight

Need Statistics? Try the revamped ProQuest Statistical Insight. Whether you are in need of federal, state, business or international statistics, ProQuest Statistical Insight may have what you need.  With its robust search engine, you can easily find statistics on topics such as consumer electronics, market data, housing, identify theft, and more. 

You can access ProQuest Statistical Insight from the Library’s databases list. Additional federal government statistics can be found in the Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Elaine Watson & Memo Cordova,
Reference Librarians

March is National Professional Social Work Month

Social work professionals continue to influence and improve services in hospitals, schools, businesses, military branches, government, and thousands of non-profit and community organizations across the country.

This year’s theme, “Weaving Threads of Resilience and Advocacy,” emphasizes the value of using personal strengths and self-advocacy to manage serious life challenges.

In honor of this annual celebration of one of the country’s top growth professions, and to support the curricular and research needs of BSU social work students, faculty, and staff, the Albertsons Library is focusing attention on social work resources.

Licensed databases with the best coverage for Social Work include:

• Family & Society Studies Worldwide
• Social Services Abstracts
• Sociological Abstracts
• Social Work Abstracts
• Criminal Justice Abstracts

Additional specialized resources relevant to Social Work are available at the Albertsons Library Social Work Subject Guide: http://guides.boisestate.edu/socialwork

For more information about Social Work Month 2013 or the social work profession, visit SocialWorkMonth.org. 

Marilia Y. Antunez,
Assistant Professor/Librarian

Streaming Video at the Library

Did you know that Albertsons Library provides you with access to a number of databases that offer streaming media online? They're like your academic YouTube. These databases provide streaming video on a variety of topics via your computer and, where available, via your mobile device:

• American History in Video - Videos of historical events and analysis.
• Counseling and Therapy in Video - Over 280 streaming videos that support the study of social work, psychotherapy and psychology.
• Dance in Video - Dance productions and documentaries.
• Ethnographic Video Online - A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior.
• Education in Video - The first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.
• Films On Demand - Educational films on topics from across the disciplines.
• Opera in Video - 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
• Theatre in Video - Streaming recordings of thousands of original plays.
• World History in Video - Documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

If you like those, you may want to check out these additional streaming video websites available for free online:

• Folkstreams - A National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures
• Internet Archive - This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
• PBS Video - From the Public Broadcasting Service, PBS.org award-winning national programming and locally produced shows.

Find these databases and additional image/video resources at the "Finding and Citing Images and Videos" library guide at http://guides.boisestate.edu/imagesvideos. To access this library guide on your mobile device, simply scan this QR code:

Citing Images and Videos
Library Guide

Listen now! Free mobile streaming music through library databases

Smart phone users, rejoice! Alexander Street Press, publisher of our streaming music databases Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, has made their spectacular collections of high-quality streaming music available to the mobile user. By scanning QR codes, such as those in this blog post, you can launch right into specially selected playlists (for instance, the QR code at left links to a playlist for French Bastille Day; QR code below right links to an e-album of music from the movie Pride & Prejudice).

As you browse the database, look for the cell phone icon: . Clicking that icon from your smart phone will bring up the mobile player, while clicking from a computer will automatically generate a textable shortlink and scannable QR code for the album or playlist. Don't forget that these great databases allow you to create your own playlists, too! The only apparent drawback is that (unlike listening on your computer) mobile access only allows you to play one track at a time and can't run a group of songs in continuous playback -- but if you figure out how to do that, please let us know!

The service is currently available from the three above databases for all Android and iPhone devices, including the iPod Touch and iPad. Later in 2010, you can expect more streaming access! The publisher is planning to add its nine video collections, including American History in Video, Dance in Video, and Ethnographic Video Online.

If you want to learn more about QR codes, try watching this short, helpful video from CNet.

Top Library Database Webinar Series

Throughout the month of April, Albertsons Library invites all faculty and staff to a series of webinars about several of the library’s top databases. These webinars will be “hands-on” with laptops available, and open to all faculty and staff.

• Learn how to search for Legal or Business information, or explore the new enhanced search interface of LEXIS NEXIS, one of the premiere academic research databases.
• Discover the wealth of high quality images, maps, paintings, photographs, and art available in the ARTSTOR database that can enhance and supplement teaching efforts.
• Become familiar with ENDNOTE WEB, an online bibliographic citation manager that can enhance the research and writing process for you and your students.
• Leverage the wealth of data available in the journal archive JSTOR, or go behind the scenes of Arts & Sciences Collection VIII to learn about the core materials it contains.

PLEASE RSVP to Rick Stoddart (rickstoddart@boisestate.edu). All Webinars will be held in room L201C in Albertsons Library (except those starred* will be held in L203)

• 4/5 Lexis Nexis Academic (Basic Overview) 12pm-1pm
• 4/7 JSTOR - Data for Research Service (DfR) (DfR website) 12pm-1pm
• 4/12 ARTstor (plus 1/2 hr of practice time) in L203* 11:30am-12:30pm
• 4/14 EndNote Web (Basic Overview) 11am-12:30pm
• 4/15 JSTOR (Arts & Science Collection VIII) 12pm - 1pm
• 4/19 Lexis Nexis Academic (Legal Research) 12pm-1pm
• 4/19 ARTstor (plus 1/2 hour of practice time) in L203* 1:30pm-2:30pm
• 4/26 Lexis Nexis Academic (Business Research) 11am-12pm
• 4/27 EndNote Web (Basic Overview) 4:30pm-6pm

Contact me (rickstoddart@boisestate.edu) If you would like more information about a particular webinar or if you have a suggestion for future workshops on a specific Albertsons Library resource.

New Databases!

Albertsons Library supports your research pursuits by purchasing access to databases that help you achieve academic success.

We recently acquired the following databases from Alexander Street Press, available via our Databases, Articles page:

• American History in Video - provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history
• Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives & Reference Works -  a searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
• Dance in Video - Dance in Video will contain 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
• Ethnographic Video Online - provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior–-more than 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion.
• North American Indian Drama - contains 172 plays by 33 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Let us know if you have any questions, or contact your library liaison for an instruction session on how to use these or the more than 230+ databases available to you at Albertsons Library.

Welcome to the Library!

Welcome to Albertsons Library! We are continually adding new services and resources to make your stay at Boise State one of fulfilling research and academic excellence. Here are a few of the things you can expect to see this Spring semester at the Library:

Library pages for Faculty. You will find a variety of library resources based on your scholarly and teaching needs, a plethora of library services and collections, and location and contact information for your library liaison.

For students, we have additional computers with Microsoft Office 2007, laptops (Macs & PCs) for checkout, library pages geared toward your scholarly needs (check it out: undergraduate and graduate), and extended hours.

Don't forget, we are available to help you with your research via our reference chat, on Facebook, and on Twitter.

New research databases! Access articles from thousands of journals and magazines in our growing collection of online resources available at the A-Z list of databases.

Find research resources using our extensive interactive subject guides in fields such as Public Administration, Criminal Justice, Kinesiology, Sociology and many more via Alberstons Library's LibGuides system.

We're up to about 110 desktop computers in our student lab, with machines on the first and second floors. Included are two multimedia stations with additional hardware and software so that students can use to create and edit multimedia projects.

There are digital screens in presentation rooms on the first and second floors, so you can plug in your laptop and view your presentation on the big screen.

Albertsons Library is committed to ensure the academic success of Boise State University students, faculty, and staff. If you have questions or comments, please let us know, or call us at 426-1204.

Become a Library Expert in 10 Minutes or Less

Are you daunted by an upcoming research project? Want to know more about what the library has to offer? Albertsons Library is pleased to announce a new series of drop-in sessions that can make a library expert out of anyone! The "10 Minutes to..." sessions will take place daily at 12:00 noon from Monday to Thursday throughout the month of October.

Boise State librarians will cover the essentials of research with lightning speed! Look for us just inside the library's front doors, near the entrance to Starbucks. Planned workshops include:

• Monday, Oct. 12th: 10 Minutes to... Finding a Movie in the Library
• Tuesday, Oct. 13th: 10 Minutes to... Finding an Article
• Wednesday, Oct. 14th: 10 Minutes to... Google Search Tips
• Thursday, Oct. 15th: 10 Minutes to... ARTstor: Find Your Image

• Monday, Oct. 19: 10 Minutes to... Finding Music in the Library!
• Tuesday, Oct. 20: 10 Minutes to... Starting Your Research
• Wednesday, Oct. 21: 10 Minutes to... Google Scholar Search Tips
• Thursday, Oct. 22: 10 Minutes to... Finding E-Books

• Monday, Oct. 26: 10 Minutes to... Finding a Movie in the Library
• Tuesday, Oct. 27: 10 Minutes to... Finding an Article
• Wednesday, Oct. 28: 10 Minutes to... Effective Search Strategies on the Web
• Thursday, Oct. 29: 10 Minutes to... Google Search Tips

There's no need to RSVP or plan ahead; just stop by at noon and check them out. Come for one session, or come for all of them -- it's up to you. See you there!

New database: ScholarWorks

This spring, Albertsons Library, in collaboration with the Graduate College, Research Office, and Office of the Provost, began developing ScholarWorks, a collection of services designed to capture and showcase all scholarly output by the Boise State University community.

These services include: identifying and making available via the ScholarWorks web site documents and files produced by the faculty, research groups, and students of Boise State University; creation of Selected Works pages which highlight the scholarly accomplishments of each individual faculty member; distribution of regular reports that provide data on the impact and usage of faculty publications; access to simple and inexpensive electronic publishing of original series, journals, and monographs; and promotion of research efforts via a searchable public database.

Not only does ScholarWorks help increase the visibility and impact of faculty work through broader dissemination, it also supports student research through initiatives such as making theses and dissertations available electronically.

Additionally, ScholarWorks has the ability to provide access to many different types of scholarship such as journal articles, technical reports, presentations, working papers, and datasets. Here are some examples:

• Correlations Beyond the Nearest-Neighbor Level in Grain Boundary Networks – Faculty Scholarship
• MOSFET Modulated Dual Conversion Gain CMOS Image Sensors - Dissertations
• Jack Pelton - Individual Faculty Pages
• Ahsahta Press – Digitized Books 2009
• Undergraduate Research Conference

In the coming months, ScholarWorks will continue to develop these services and help support Boise State’s scholarly communication efforts. Please contact Michelle Armstrong (426-2580) for more information.

New database: Films on Demand

Films on Demand is an online collection of videos for all subjects including many of Films Media Group’s best selling and most popular titles. Incorporating outstanding educational programs into your presentations and lesson plans is now easier than ever! Just visit the database and browse by subject, search all videos, or search in one of the four collections: Business & Economics, Health, Humanities & Social Sciences, or Sciences.

Films on Demand offers online video streaming of high quality programs available anywhere there’s a computer. It allows users to create an account where they can build their own playlists and favorites lists making it easy to share videos with classes. Visit the link above or our databases page to check it out!

With this subscription, Albertsons Library continues its transition to electronic formats. Online access to these videos was made possible by reallocating funds that previously supported print collections.

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Counseling and Therapy in Video is an online collection of videos for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. It is possible to find videos about client-counselor relations, brief relational therapy, age and aging, and by therapists such as, Lynn Banez, Norman Kagan, and over 150 others.

The database currently contains more than 276 videos with more than 300 hours of content and new titles will be added over time. Videos can be discovered through a number of different ways including subject, therapy type, theme, and therapist.

They can also be found by type—consultations, counseling sessions, demonstrations, interviews, and lecture/presentations. Counseling and Therapy in Video makes it easy for students and faculty to find and view videos.

With this subscription, Albertsons Library continues its transition to electronic formats. Online access to these videos was made possible by reallocating funds that previously supported print collections. Additional resources can be found in our Psychology subject guide at http://guides.boisestate.edu/psychology .

Attention Marketing Students

Want to know how many men between 18 and 49 have had a nutrition/energy bar in the last week? Or, how many college graduates have purchased a Timex watch in the last year. Or, how many women are heavy users of shower and bath gels?

All these questions, and more, can be answered using the MRI+ (Mediamark Research & Intelligence) database, found via the articles, databases link right here on the Library’s home page.

Register for use with your Boise State email address, and, after confirmation, use the Mediamark Reporter link to find more information about understanding consumers and the things they buy.

Melissa Kozel,
Reference Librarian

Introducing GrantSelect

In times of economic crisis finding grant funding becomes more important than ever. Albertsons Library proudly offers a tool that will help: GrantSelect! Whether you’re a foundation manager, a dean, a faculty, or a student, the GrandSelect database can help. It contains information on over 10,000 grant opportunities from 4,000+ granting institutions in the United States and Canada.

GrantSelect is searchable by keyword, geographic area, or subject and has an advanced search option for more detailed searching (by sponsor or agency, among others). Each record in the database offers all the information you need to start a grant writing project, including: subject terms for related searches, sponsor contact information, type of agency, grant application information, links to sponsors’ / grant websites, and granting histories, when available.

Whether you’re a student who has to complete a grant writing exercise for a social work class, a dean looking for outside college funding, or an engineer or biologist looking to find funding for a new research project, GrantSelect has the information you need to get started. To start using this valuable tool, check out Albertsons Library’s Grant Information Guide, or find it on the database A-Z list on the library’s website.

New additions to ARTstor

The ARTstor digital library continues to expand. You can now access these image collections:

1,600 images of British architecture from the Brian Davis archive. The collection documents architectural and garden sites in Europe, primarily architecture in Britain from the Middle Ages to the early 20th century.

1,100 images of the cave temples at Ellora. This initial release focuses on Buddhist caves, the earliest structures at Ellora, dating from 500 to 700 C.E.

Try out the Enhanced Biosciences Database

BIOSIS Previews is now available via ISI Web of Knowledge!  This will replace Biological Abstracts in the New Year (January 2009).  Why care, you say? In addition to the information about journal articles that Biological Abstracts includes, BIOSIS Previews contains information about meeting papers, reviews, reports, book chapters, etc.  

All the content of Biological  Abstracts will be available in BIOSIS Previews, PLUS MORE. Not only that, but the content will extend back to 1955. But if searchers want to see only articles in the results, or just meetings, they will be able to limit their search to those document types.  In addition to the enlarged database, the content will now be available on the Web of Science interface.      

So give BIOSIS Previews a try today.  

Beth 

Reference Librarian

CLIO Notes added to America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts databases

Historical research just became a lot easier! We are pleased to announce the addition of CLIO Notes to America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts in the library's databases collection. CLIO is available via the EBSCOhost suite of databases:

CLIO Notes for America: History & Life will guide you through subjects in United States history, by allowing you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history. On the main screen, you will find a list of major time periods and events. Each of these is further divided into subtopics that display informative essays and suggestions for further research. Linked subject terms are also provided, which allow you to search the entire America: History and Life database for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.

CLIO Notes for Historical Abstracts will guide you through subjects in World History since 1450 (excluding the United States and Canada), by allowing you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes in modern history. On the main screen, you will find a list of major time periods and events. Each of these is further divided into subtopics that display informative essays and suggestions for further research. Linked subject terms are also provided, which allow you to search the entire Historical Abstracts database for articles, book citations and dissertations.

Access to America: History & Life and scores of other databases is available via the Albertsons Library's Databases page. Please contact one of our helpful reference librarians if you would like to know more about this or any of the resources available to you at the library.

Magnum Photos Coming to ARTstor

The ARTstor Digital Library, now at over 800,000 images, is growing monthly. A recent ARTstor announcement provides exciting news about the addition of Magnum photos in spring 2009:

Beginning this spring, Magnum will launch 80,000 high-quality photographs within the ARTstor Digital Library to share images of major events and personalities from the Spanish Civil War to Vietnam to the present day for scholarly purposes. Mark Lubell, Managing Director of Magnum’s New York office, says of the collaboration, "The ARTstor Digital Library is a wonderful way of providing students and the academic community with access to a selection of Magnum’s iconic photographs.

You can find ARTstor on the Library's 'Find Articles, Databases' page.

For Theatre studies, or just for fun! New video database

video still from From King Lear (1988)

Whether you're interested in plays, playwrights, or acting, check out Theatre in Video, a new database of online streaming video productions of live plays from the 1930s to the 20th century, including BBC's productions of every play in the Shakespearean canon.

Find plays written by Samuel Beckett, Anton Chekhov, Harold Pinter, William Faulkner; plays starring Meryl Streep or Anthony Hopkins; and much more.

According to Alexander Street Press, the creators of Theatre in Video:

With live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience.

Watch from home, work, or in the library. To access from off-campus, just log in with your BroncoWeb ID and password. Find a play to watch online now! ->